The Inn Pt. 10

Last night I had another experience in the lobby bathroom. I’ve mentioned before how the paper towel dispenser will dispense towels when nobody is waving their hand in front of it, or even in the bathroom. Well, since then I’ve come to the realization that those things are faulty and will do that on their own. Just like those toilets that flush on their own will also flush at weird times. Sure, even the sink that runs water by itself will do it from time to time.

Last night, however, was something completely different, and something I’ve never experienced there. Or anywhere, for that matter.

I was the only one in there. I went to the very last stall, as I always do, and shut the door. I began doing my business. Number one, if it matters. Behind me I heard what sounded like a heavy breath, but not really from a person. It was almost a breathy growl. I heard the door creak behind me, as if someone were leaning on it. From the outside, it pulls open, not pushes open. It didn’t sound like someone pulling on it, just leaning on it.

In this bathroom, unless you’re a ninja, you’ll be heard walking in. I heard nobody walk in.

Yet I was sure someone was on the other side of the door. That breath was unmistakable. And I’ve used that bathroom so many times now, I know the regular sounds that can be heard in there. That was the first time I’ve ever heard this sound.

I left the stall and, having the door open, I closed it and looked behind it to make sure nobody was there. I was still alone in the bathroom.

I went and washed my hands and dried them. Before I walked out, I stopped at the entrance and looked back toward the back of the bathroom and waited, listening. I even held my breath.

Just then, I heard that noise again, coming from the back of the bathroom, only it was louder and more pronounced. Definitely a deep breathy growl. As it was happening, the paper towel dispenser dispensed another towel.

I have to admit, I was a little shaken by that. I went to the front desk and told my wife and the other lady working the front desk. The other lady said she’s always hearing noises coming out of there when she uses the adjoining women’s bathroom.

Later, I went into the bathroom just to listen. I was the only one there. While I didn’t hear anything that time, I definitely felt a presence, like I was being watched. I’ve had that feeling before and know the difference between it and just getting worked up or feeling creeped out.

I’m not sure if I like that bathroom anymore.

One response to “The Inn Pt. 10

  1. Pingback: The Inn Pt. 13 | Cincinnati Ghosts

Leave a Reply

