Lake Shawnee Amusement Park

There’s no telling if West Virginia’s creepy old abandoned amusement park, Lake Shawnee, is haunted. But it probably is. It hasn’t been in operation since 1966, and it was originally built on a desecrated Indian burial ground. Oh, it was also the location of a brutal massacre of settlers.

When a dig was conducted, the Native American burial ground was discovered, including 13 bodies, most of which were kids. Awesome! Who wouldn’t want to go to a place like that? A lot of people believe the place is cursed, so just by entering it you’re sure to have the best of luck in the future.

193txko5iiusbjpg

So why not go? I’d love to! And as luck would have it, the place is going to be open for one week only, from October 25th to Halloween! Make your plans now, and be sure to take tons of pictures! Tours begin at dusk and they’re allowing cameras and audio recorders to be brought in. They also suggest you bring a flashlight, otherwise you’ll be walking around a 50 year abandoned amusement park built on top of an Indian burial ground, in the dark.

If you do go, let me know how it was! I’d love to hear about it. I’d love to go myself, but I don’t think I’ll make it.

193txn4y3joyqjpg

I pulled this info and the two pictures from here. Click the link to check out more on this and more awesomely creepy pictures!

2 responses to “Lake Shawnee Amusement Park

  1. This is awesome I wish I could see it!

    • Yeah, I hope to be able to go, but it’s about 5 hours from where I live, and my car isn’t the greatest, so we’ll see. I actually have a friend who is going to be contacting them soon to find out more details, like if we need to make reservations, or if it’s going to cost anything. I really do hope to make it!

Leave a Reply

