My Work

I don’t think my current place of employment is haunted, but I really don’t know. I mean, on one hand I hear things from time to time that make me wonder, while on the other hand I haven’t felt anything there. So I just don’t know.

I mean, every now and then I’ll hear someone talk to me, only to discover nobody is there. And then I wonder if I had heard anybody speak at all. Things like that. For those of you who don’t know, I work at a pizza place.

Well, last night might have changed my mind. I got to work at 11 PM and clocked in. As I was doing that, out of the corner of my eye I saw someone walk from one wall to another. Where I saw it was where we stack our extra pizza boxes along the outside of our walk-in cooler. That’s where whoever it was started. Then they walked to the opposite wall, which is where our sinks are for doing dishes. Between me and the sinks is a wall, so whoever it was disappeared behind that wall, but there was nowhere for them to go except to the sinks.

On the computer where I clocked in I noticed there were only three other people there, and one had just left on a delivery. The other two I could see. Curiously I walked towards the sinks and I saw nobody was there. I then asked the manager on duty if anybody else was there and he said there wasn’t.

Later when the head boss came in, I was in the walk-in cooler with him telling him about it and he said it was creepy. I left and went to mop the floor, exactly where I had seen whatever I had seen. And while I was mopping I heard what sounded like someone knocking on a wall, or on the back door, or pounding on it… I’m not sure what the noise was, but I’ve heard it before and there’s nothing in the store that I know of that could make the noise. I don’t know if some kids were just being idiots and banging on the back door, so I’m not holding too much stock in the noise. But I know what I saw, and I swear I saw someone walk from the wall to the sinks.

Even later last night after I left work, I was driving up the road and had to quickly swerve out of the way, because a raccoon was SITTING in the middle of the lane I was driving in, facing me. As I swerved, he calmly stood and walked away, as if his job was done.

Last night was just a strange night.

8 responses to “My Work

  1. oohh I feel you my friend! Mommy works at an older building and is often the only one there. During the times alone, she can ‘hear’ people moving around but no one is there. She went to the potty one night, and the paper towel roller was just spinning. She stopped it, did her business and was washing her hands. Then the toilet paper roll started spinning. Strange things but very interesting. XOXO – Bacon

  2. Pingback: Burrito Ghosts | Cincinnati Ghosts

Leave a Reply

