Ghost Hunting

There are many reasons why one would want to hunt for ghosts. There could literally be a different reason for each and every one who goes out with a camera in the middle of the night to a creepy abandoned farm house in the middle of nowhere.

My reason for doing it? I was given a gift. I can sense the paranormal. I don’t expect you to believe that, most of the time I don’t. So I’ve prepared another reason why I ghost hunt. Because I love the thrill, but ultimately, because I want proof. Because the stuff I sense isn’t proof to anybody but me. So naturally, I want the hard evidence that all paranormal investigators want.

It is my firm belief that if you’re going to hunt for something, your motive should be to get proof that it exists. You should be looking at your evidence with a skeptical eye, and you should be weeding out any possibility of a non-paranormal explanation. What you should be left with are pieces of evidence that leave you puzzled. They leave you asking questions. They have no logical explanation for what they could be. And then maybe, you’ll be one step closer to finding that golden EVP or digital picture. You’ll be one step closer in finding that definitive proof that there are ghosts walking the earth.

You’re not trying to prove it to the believers. There’s nothing anybody can say to me to make me believe ghosts don’t exist. I have lived through things that there were no logical, non-paranormal explanations for. I know, without a shadow of a doubt, in my heart of hearts, that there are ghosts among us. But I look at all evidence as a skeptic, and all ghost hunters should do the same.

The problem is, hard boiled skeptics feel the same way about there being a logical explanation for everything, that there are absolutely no such thing as ghosts. There is nothing anybody can say to change their minds. Nothing. Everything has an explanation.

Trust me, I know. I’ve talked to enough skeptics to realize they will go above and beyond to come up with the craziest of scenarios to make what should be a haunting turn out to just be a hallucination brought on by the foreign chemicals found in tap water. That’s a serious conversation I had with a skeptic. And that was the sanest of his theories. He would rather come up with the most off the wall, illogical, crazy reasons for something to happen, than to just say “it was a ghost.”

So guess what, ghost hunters… no matter what proof you get, it’s never going to be enough. For the better part of a decade I have thought long and hard about what could be definitive proof, and I have come up with nothing. Because each and every year that passes, technology keeps getting better. With that comes better CGI, and more people who know how to make good CGI on a shoestring budget. No matter what technology you can come up with to make ghost hunting easier and more definitive, there’s going to be the same amount of technology on the flip side to help create on a computer what it is we’re seeking to find in real life.

To top it all off, there are those who treat ghost hunting as a fun hobby. Just something to do on a Saturday night. Those who believe orbs are ghosts manifesting themselves and not possibly just dust, and those who would rather believe an urban legend is a real thing than to hear the truth about it.

I hate to call one person out on this because there are so many who do this, but there is a very popular website called Forgotten Ohio. It has been around since 1999 and has been one of the bigger websites on the subject of ghosts and urban folklore to ever come about. At some point I may have read every page on that site. I love it. The guy who runs it has done a great job with it. Although it needs some TLC and maybe an overhaul, it’s most likely going to be around for a long time and it’s going to entertain people for years to come.

With that said, I once sent an email to the guy who runs it, Andy, to tell him a few things about some of the urban legends on his site. Specifically about Munchkinland (he calls it Tiny Town) and Buffalo Ridge. On his site he mentions, “Buffalo Ridge is also located near the legendary Tiny Town, and I once spent the better part of an evening driving up and down the road looking for it. Apparently it’s located nearby but not actually on Buffalo Ridge.”

In my email I told him that they are nowhere near each other. I explained how to get to both and I also cleared some things up about both, giving him the real stories to both places and discrediting the folklore. I never got a response, and both of those pages still say what they say. He never updated them, leaving the folklore and incorrect information on them.

With that said, I don’t know if he actually updates anything on the site anymore. But if I had one of the most popular sites online about the paranormal and I had incorrect information about something on it, and someone corrected that info, I’d fix it. Because if you’re willing to leave in information that is false and you’re going to keep the unbelievable in the spotlight, you’re also helping to discredit the paranormal.

Again, I love that site and I discovered a whole lot about Ohio that I may not have known otherwise, but at the same time I have to question everything on the site if I know he’s going to keep incorrect info on it.

And if you’re a ghost hunter who only wants to get a scare and have stories to tell, have your fun, but don’t ruin the experience for people who are ghost hunting because they want to catch the proof. Those who are on a mission and don’t just look at ghost hunting like a weekend hobby, but as a life mission.

What I don’t like is when I’m out ghost hunting, especially at one of the most haunted places in the United States, and I’ve paid money to ghost hunt there, and I’m surrounded by people who are looking for orbs and are laughing and joking the entire time and not taking it seriously.

I once did a ghost hunt at Mansfield Reformatory. I went with a girl who contacted me because she wanted to learn how to be a ghost hunter. She went with me to Mansfield. Before we went in she smoked a joint. She already failed as a ghost hunter. While we were walking around inside the Warden’s Quarters, she was knocking on all the wood. I asked her why the hell she was doing that and she said she was looking for trap doors. I bet there’s more than one person who was there that night who went home, looked through all of their evidence, and found ghostly knocking that couldn’t be explained. Sorry buddy, but I can explain it. No matter how many times I told her to stop knocking, she continued.

If you’re not going to take it seriously, skeptics aren’t going to take it seriously. And as a ghost hunter, as a believer, we need all the help we can get. It’s not that we need people to believe us, but it would be nice if I wasn’t looked at like a freak when I tell people I enjoy looking for ghosts and being in haunted places. It would be nice if someone caught that golden evidence. I don’t care if it’s not me, I’d just like to see the evidence that changes the mind of all the skeptics. That would be some incredible evidence!

All I ask is that you take it seriously. For every ghost hunter out there who is on the same mission that I am, there are more who are creating a fake haunting on their computer, uploading the video to Youtube and calling it proof of a real haunting. Sadly, things aren’t going to change for the better, but that’s what I want. For those of us looking for proof to all have one goal in mind. Can we attempt that, please?

3 responses to “Ghost Hunting

  1. Pingback: The Warrens | Cincinnati Ghosts

  2. I have to say, if I had an experienced hunter that was willing to take me, I would treat it a great opportunity to learn just as it is.

    My personal opinion is that if you want to be great at something then the most direct course of action is to surround yourself with the “masters” of that particular field.

    I am still looking for someone in the Cincinnati area who is willing to show me the ropes!
    I have invested in all of the equipment necessary for obtaining evidence but I am thoughtfully gun shy of going out by myself or with another inexperienced person as I have a healthy respect for the unknown.

    It would be great if there was a ghost hunting instructor,akin to a skydiving instructor teaching newbies how to safely jump out of planes!

    Any advice?

    Thanks!

    • Advice? First and foremost, don’t ever go alone. That’s for safety reasons as well as having someone there to back up your stories. Also, always get permission to be where you’re hunting. Lastly, always take plenty of pictures, leave your voice recorder on, and have a good time. Don’t run from everything, go to it. Make sure there’s no other reason for what you’re experiencing before claiming it’s a ghost or spirit. And that’s really it. Ghost hunting is a lot different and much safer than sky diving 😉

Leave a Reply

