The House That Raised Me Pt. 4

As I was going over in my head all of the incidents that I have encountered to see if I had left anything out, I realized I had. There were a few more things that had happened in The House that I had almost forgotten about, and they had all happened to a friend of mine, John. I mentioned him during the Apartment stories.

When I was growing up and living in The House, John lived just a block down the road from me and we were the best of friends. During the summer, we lived with each other. He’d be at my house for a week and then we’d go and stay at his house for a week. We ran the streets all the time. Every now and then while at his house, some strange things would happen but nothing really noteworthy, but while he was staying with me at my house, some strange things happened to him.

One night I awoke to see him standing in my room in front of the door, which was open. The hall light was on, so the room was lit up pretty well. I asked him what he was doing and he said someone poured water on him.

I got up and looked and honestly, it looked as if he had pissed the bed. His boxers were completely soaked. He said he woke up when he felt something being poured on him and he heard a guy laughing in the hallway, but he saw nobody.

He had left a glass of water on my book shelf and it had less water in it than when he had taken his last drink before us going to bed, but the water that was missing wasn’t enough to cover what got wet.

I looked at my bed, and the wet spot was cold. He definitely had not pissed the bed. I smelled it too just to make sure.

My bed at that time was a twin, just a mattress sitting on a piece of plywood which was held up by the frame. Whatever got him wet, soaked him, the mattress, the plywood, and the water was dripping from the plywood onto the floor, which also had a little puddle on it. A lot of water had been dumped on him.

We checked the house. Everyone was asleep and really, the only person it could have been was my dad, and that’s just not something he would do. Never mind that we could hear him clearly in his own room, snoring loud enough to wake the dead. No pun intended.

Another time, I woke up one morning to find he was gone. He had stayed the night, but there was no sign of him. I walked to his house and asked him what had happened. This is what he told me.

He had gotten up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom. He walked out of my room and into the hallway and just as he got to the bathroom door he heard his name. He looked into the living room and in the very dim light he could make out a form on the couch. He told me the voice sounded like my step mother. She asked him by name if he could go home, so he said he would. He used the bathroom, got his stuff and left.

After I heard about this I was pissed. This was something my step mom would have done at this time, for no reason at all. I went home and confronted her about it and she was legitimately shocked. She said she never did that and would never do that. Really, there was no reason for him to go home, and I know for sure she would have done something like that and even lied to me about it, so I’m not too sure on this, but either way, it was odd.

The last incident, which I didn’t find out about until just a couple of years ago, was again at night while he was staying with me. He woke up to get a glass of water. He walked into the kitchen, got a glass and filled it from the tap. He walked into the living room and sat down on the couch to take a few drinks. While sitting there, the TV turned itself on. The TV we had then could only be turned on by the knob on the TV, there was no remote.

He told me he just sat there, drinking his water and watching TV, not quite sure what to make of it, but his heart was racing. He took another drink, went back into the kitchen and sat the half full glass on the counter and went back into my bedroom and laid down on the floor. He said he was wide awake the rest of the night.

During the night, he heard the TV shut off, but he hadn’t heard anybody get up or move around. As soon as the sun came up and the house was lit up, he went back into the kitchen to find his glass was gone from the counter and put into the dish drainer and it was completely dry.

After speaking with my dad recently and telling him about the TV incident with John, my dad said the TV did that all the time. It never happened to me, but apparently it happened to my dad a few times as well as a couple other people.

Leave a Reply

