The Apartment Pt.1

When I was 20 I moved into an apartment with a good friend of mine, Tammy. This was the first time she had been on her own and the first time I had moved out of my Grandmother’s house. This apartment was in the same city where we had both grown up, and where I had grown up in The House.

Tammy got homesick shortly after moving in, so she moved back home with her parents for a few months. During that time, things started happening around our apartment.

The first thing to happen, one night I had gone to bed. Just as I was about to fall asleep I was suddenly awakened by three loud bangs on my bedroom door. I shot out of bed, heart racing and opened the door. Nobody was there. I had expected that maybe Tammy had come home and was joking with me, but that wasn’t the case.

It took me a while to go back to sleep that night, but I finally did.

A couple nights later, I went to bed and while laying there I happened to open my eyes and noticed light coming in from under my bedroom door. I got up and opened the door to notice the dining room light was on. It wasn’t when I went to bed. Once again I thought she had come home, and she wasn’t there.

A few nights after that, the same thing happened, only this time it was the bathroom light that was on.

A couple nights later, the bangs on my bedroom door happened again.

A couple nights later, the hall light was on.

Then the bangs.

Then the dining room light.

This happened over and over. The bangs on my door happened three times in total, but the dining room, hallway and bathroom lights would all come on by themselves countless times. This was the beginning of a fun time in the apartment.

Leave a Reply

